iMovie Resources


Apple Learning Interchange
http://ali.apple.com

iMovie Samples

Teacher Movie http://homepage.mac.com/lesleyu/iMovieTheater.html
Movie Examples from Springfield Illinois http://www.springfield.k12.il.us/movie/
Gresham Middle School iMovies http://www.gresham-ms.knox.k12.tn.us/imovies.html

Apple Websites on iMovie HD
iMovie HD in the Classroom http://www.apple.com/education/imovie/
iMovie HD Support http://www.apple.com/support/imovie/

Camera and Shooting Advice
Ten Tips for Making Better Videos http://www.camcorderinfo.com/content/ten_steps_better_video.htm
WALLDO http://fc.mpsvt.org/~brad/iMoviefilmingTechniques
Good Video Tips http://www.camcorderinfo.com/content/good_video_tips.htm
Shooting Good Video http://www.videoccasions-nw.com/voshoot.html
Beginner's Guide - Buying a Digital Video Camera http://www.easycamcorders.com/content/Beginners-Guide.htm
Streaming Basics: Shooting Video for Streaming http://smw.internet.com/video/tutor/streambasics1/

iMovie Plugins and Add-ons
Stupendous Software (some free, some pay) http://www.stupendous-software.com/
More addins http://www.apple.com/ilife/imovie/visual_effects.html
Audio http://www.apple.com/ilife/imovie/audio_effects.html

Planning and StoryBoards
What is a Storyboard? http://accad.osu.edu/womenandtech/Storyboard%20Resource/
iMovie iRemember http://www.springfield.k12.il.us/movie/remember/index.htm
Atomic Learning Video Storboard Software (very cool - and it's free!) http://www.atomiclearning.com/storyboardpro
Storyboard example http://ali.apple.com/ali_media/Users/1000024/files/others/Listerstorybd.pdf
Storyboard template PDF Storyboard template
Storyboard - Simple or Detailed
Student Video Project Proposal http://edtech.guhsd.net/video/pitch.pdf

Resources for Using iMovie in the Classroom
Digital Video in Education http://edtech.guhsd.net/video.html
Atomic Learning-Free iMovie Tutorials http://stage.atomiclearning.com/imovie3
About.com - iMovie Resources http://desktopvideo.about.com/cs/imovie/
Dr. Alice Christie's Digital Media Resources http://www.west.asu.edu/achristie/DMedia/
iMovie Tips http://www.apple.com/ilife/imovie/hottips/
Videography for Educators http://newali.apple.com/cgi-bin/WebObjects/ALIView.woa/wa/DisplayExhibit?SiteCode=ali&AspectName=INTRODUCTION&ExhibitID=1000019
Teacher Process for Digital Video - Plan, Coordinate and Assess http://edtech.guhsd.net/video/videoteacher.html
Issues and iMovie http://www.tawa.school.nz/Learning/ICT/ICTiMovie.html

Digital Storytelling and Electronic Portfolios
Digital Storytelling in the Scott County Schools http://www.scott.k12.ky.us/technology/digitalstorytelling/ds.html
Educational Uses of Digital Storytelling http://www.coe.uh.edu/digital-storytelling/
Create a Digital Storytelling Artifact Using iMovie http://electronicportfolios.com/portfolios/howto/stepbystep-iMoviestills.pdf
Electronic Portfolios for Assessment http://ali.apple.com/ali_sites/ali/exhibits/1000936/
Students Find Their Voices Through Multimedia http://www.edutopia.org/php/article.php?id=Art_980

Resources for Audio, Music and Sound Effects
Freeplay Music - http://www.freeplaymusic.com
Audio Recorder http://versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/17392
Find Sounds.com http://www.findsounds.com/
CNET Music Download http://music.download.com/
Converting sound files for iMovie with Quicktime Pro http://www.macworld.com/2000/09/bc/04imoviesb1/
History and Politics Out Loud http://www.hpol.org/

Copyright: Music, Video and Content
All Clear? A Music Clearance Primer http://themusicbridge.com/id38.htm
The Educator's Guide to Copyright and Fair Use http://www.techlearning.com/db_area/archives/TL/2002/10/copyright.html
Copyright Chart for Teachers http://i.cmpnet.com/techlearning/pdf/db_area/archives/TL/2002/10/copyright_chart.pdf

Quicktime: Bringing your iMovie to the Web
How to:All about Embedding QuickTime Movies
iMovie FAQ http://www.danslagle.com/mac/iMovie/qt_plugins/3001.shtml
Copy and paste the EMBED Tag for Your Web Page http://www.usm.maine.edu/~jmckenney/imovie/embed.html
Embed info from Apple http://www.apple.com/quicktime/tutorials/embed.html
Link samples http://css.ait.iastate.edu/Present/IMovie/Intro/HTML/
How to Share Your Movies on the Web, CD-ROM, or Videotape http://www.macworld.com/2000/12/bc/howtoimovie/
WebMonkey: To Embed or Not To Embed? http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/01/06/index4a_page5.html
Exporting iMovies with Expert Settings http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=165258
Link to Download Apple's QuickTime QuickTime JPEG
URL Needed to Link http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/index.html

Student Information - Making Videos and Films
The Young Filmakers Club http://www.youngfilmmakersclub.com/
Making Movies - A Guide For Young Filmmakers http://www.scenariosusa.com/educators/makingmovies/
Adobe Digital Kids-Digital imaging and video tips http://www.adobe.com/education/digkids/tips/main.html
Making Media:Media production tips and techniques http://www.proscenia.net/reelaction/production.htm

PC/Windows Movie -Making Software
Movie Works http://www.movieworks.com/
Windows Movie Maker http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/moviemaker/default.asp
ULEAD Video Studio http://www.ulead.com/vs/runme.htm
Dazzle - Movie Star http://www.dazzle.com

Beyond iMovie?
Final Cut Express http://www.apple.com/finalcutexpress/
Final Cut Pro and Final Cut Studio http://www.apple.com/finalcutstudio/finalcutpro/

Streaming Media
Streaming Audio and Video: Technologies for streaming http://www.cit.cornell.edu/atc/materials/streaming/technologies.shtml
Stream QuickTime From Your Web Page http://www.inc.com/articles/2001/07/23376.html
Apple's QuickTime Streaming Documentation http://developer.apple.com/documentation/QuickTime/Streaming-date.html
Catalyst How-to: Create Quicktime Streaming Internet Media http://catalyst.washington.edu/how-to/digitalvideo/qtstreaming.html
Hint Track Format http://developer.apple.com/documentation/QuickTime/REF/Streaming.29.htm

Pictures

Public Domain Pictures source
http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/